US_Flag_Waving Title-0003

Fostering friendships among all Americans

AMV Header

Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.  Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.




Home Page
About AMV
Board of Directors
What others say?
AMV At A Glance
AMV in News
AMV Press Center
AMV Press Release
AMV Youth Corner
Community building
Civil Liberties
Muslim American Day
Muslim Organizations
Muslim supporters
Contact Us


AMV Sacramento

American Muslim

Updated September 2015

AMV Foundation Unsung Hero’s Awards 2004-2015

We have chosen to name AMV awards from diverse community leaders to honor them and to reflect our nation’s diversity. Regardless of whom they are their commitment to social justice, equality, fairness, inclusion and peace mirrors the teachings of Islam.

Fred Korematsu Civil Rights Award

For someone who has shown courage and commitment to protect civil liberties and constitutional rights in the current political climate. 

About Fred Korematsu: He challenged internment orders during World War II and became a spokesperson for civil rights. He died at the age of 86 on March 31, 2005. Fred Korematsu was an ordinary man who defied orders to report to Japanese-American internment camps during W.W. II because he believed it wasn't right. His case changed legal history and resulted in an apology by our government for wrongdoings, as well as reparations to 120,000 living Japanese-Americans. "If you have the feeling that something is wrong, don't be afraid to speak up." - Fred Korematsu.

2004: Amnesty International USA
2006: Liz Figueroa, California State Senator
2007: Brandon Mayfield
2010: BanafshehAkhlaghi
2011: Paul Fong CA Assembleyman
2013: Council on American Islamic Relations
2014: Muslim Advocates
2015: BasimElkarra

Peter Jennings Unbiased Media Award  

For an individual reporter or an institution (TV, radio, news paper) dedicated to unbiased reporting.  

About Peter Jennings: ABC News Anchor Peter Jennings, 67,  who died  on August 7, 2005, was one of America 's most distinguished journalists. Jennings reported many of the pivotal events that have shaped our world. He was in Berlin in the 1960s when the Berlin Wall was going up, and there in the '90s when it came down. He covered the civil rights movement in the southern United States during the 1960s and the struggle for equality in South Africa during the 1970s and '80s. On Dec. 31, 1999, Jennings anchored ABC's Peabody-award winning coverage of Millennium Eve, "ABC 2000." Some 175 million Americans watched the telecast, making it the biggest live global television event ever. 

2004: Mr. Jonathan Curiel, San Francisco Chronicle
2006: Jonathan Jones
2007: KQED EdNet
2010: KPFA
2011: Illume Magazine
2013:  Keit Do
2014: Sue Dremann
2015: RasSiddiqui

Cesar Chavez Social Justice Award 

Established in 2007:  For an individual or organization dedicated to create social justice.

The story of Cesar Estrada Chavez begins near Yuma , Arizona . Cesar was born on March 31, 1927. He was named after his grandfather, Cesario. Regrettably, the story of Cesar Estrada Chavez also ends near Yuma , Arizona . He passed away on April 23, 1993, in San Luis, a small village near Yuma , Arizona .  Dishonest Anglo-saxons possessed the small adobe home in which Cesar was born. Cesar's father agreed to clear eighty acres of land and in exchange, he would receive the deed to forty acres of land that adjoined the home. The agreement was broken and the land sold to a man named Justus Jackson. A lawyer advised Cesar's father to borrow money and buy the land. When Cesar's father could not pay the interest on the loan, the lawyer bought back the land and sold it to the original owner. Cesar learned a lesson about injustice that he would never forget. "The love for justice that is in us is not only the best part of our being but it is also the most true to our nature."- Cesar Chavez 

2007: Peninsula Peace and Justice Center
2010: Campaign For Justice: Redress Now For Japanese Latin Americans!
2011: Teresa Castellano
2013: Fr. Jon Pedigo STL Pastor
014: Roberta Ahlquist
2015: SylvinaFrausto

Virtuous Public Official Award

For a public official who is Representative of all his constituents, not just for selected groups. 

2004: Congressman Pete Stark
2006: Dutra Family, Bernie, John and Dominique:
2007: Congressman Dennis J. Kucinich
2010: Pete McHugh - Vice Mayor of Milpitas
2011: Dave Cortese- Santa Clara County Supervisor
2013: Kansen Chu – City Council Member San Jose
2014: Nancy Shepherd- Mayor of Palo Alto
2015: Shabbir A.Khan

Continued on next page